Campiglia is located in the hills to the east of the Spezia Gulf, near the Cinque Terre. It is the highest village of the municipality and the oldest part is hidden in the valley between mount Castellana and mount Coreana and served as a hideout for certain families wishing to take refuge from pirate invasions. Itís main source of revenue came from the cultivation of vineyards, thanks to the fertile land giving onto the sea, known as Tramonti. The place name Campiglia is mentioned for the first time in a set of documents written by Otto II in 991, whilst the church of Santa Caterina Alessandra and the town itself are first documented in 1326. The town used to have a castle, which is mentioned as far back as 1185, although today, not a trace of it remains.
The church of Santa Caterina de Alessandria owes itís current appearance to various reconstruction works, and its present foundations date back to the 18th century. The church houses a painting of Santa Caterina, positioned above the main altar, and a valuable painting of líAnnunciazione, featuring Santa Carina alongside San Martino and San Giovanni Battista.
Just outside the town lies a fascinating old windmill, which has now fallen into ruin. Roads leading to Portovenere, the Cinque Terre and the various Tramonti resorts such as Schiara, Monasteroli, Navone and Persico, lead off the main church square.